Board Members

The Victorian Racing Integrity Board Members are:

The Hon. Jack Forrest QC - Chairperson

The Hon. Jack Forrest QC was a Judge of the Supreme Court and the principal judge of the common-law division from 2015 until he retired in March 2018. Mr Forrest has a life-long interest in thoroughbreds and racing as a former licenced owner-trainer, breeder and rider. He was Chairperson of the Racing Victoria Integrity Council and is a Director of Racing Analytical Services Limited.

The Hon. Peter Young AM QC - Deputy Chairperson

The Hon. Peter Young served as a Family Court Judge from 2002 until 2013. He was appointed as the Deputy Chancellor of Monash University in January 2019 and has been a member of Monash University Council since 2014. Mr Young was previously a member of the Epworth Hospital Ethics and Medical Research Committee, Chairman of the Melbourne Racing Club from 2005-2010 and a Member of the Racing Victoria Integrity Council.

Magistrate Jacqueline Billings - Deputy Chairperson

Magistrate Jacqueline Billings was appointed as a Magistrate of the Magistrates’ Court of Victoria and assigned to the Victorian Children’s Court in September 2018. She is a former Chair of the Moe Racing Club, a former Board Member of Greyhound Racing Victoria and a former Member of the Greyhound Racing Victoria Integrity Council.

Ms Elizabeth Clarke - Deputy Chairperson

Ms Elizabeth Clarke has had a long involvement with racing in Victoria. She served on the Board of Harness Racing Victoria from 2012 to 2019 and as Deputy Chair from 2016 to 2019. She was also a member of the Harness Racing Victoria Integrity Council and Show Cause Committee Member between 2012 and 2019. Ms Clarke was Club Manager at the Terang Harness Racing Club and the Terang and District Racing Club. She was Advisor in the Department of Justice on the Racing Appeals Tribunal from 2000 to 2011 and a member of Harness Racing Victoria Racing Appeals and Disciplinary Board. She has been Chair of the Harness Racing Victoria Industry Advisory Council from 2016 until 2019.

Mr Bryan Gurry - Member

Bryan Gurry has had a successful career in law that includes establishing his own legal practice and being appointed as Partner of several national law firms. Mr Gurry was a Member of the Board of Directors of Racing Victoria from 2008 until 2017 and represented the Racing Victoria Board on the Racing Victoria Integrity Council.

Mr Hayden Opie AM - Member

Hayden Opie is an Honorary Senior Fellow in the Melbourne Law School and a member of the Court of Arbitration for Sport. He established and developed the Melbourne Sports Law Program where among other subjects he co-taught Racing Industry Law and Regulation. He was the founding President of the Australian and New Zealand Sports Law Association Inc, has conducted investigations and hearings into a variety of disputes for Australian sport governing bodies and served as the legal member of the Anti-Doping Rule Violation Panel established under the Australian Sports Anti-Doping Authority Act 2006 (Cth). He has also served as an independent member of the Racing Victoria

Dr CJ (Kate) Savage - Member

Kate Savage is an equine veterinarian and internal medicine specialist. She has worked in Australia, the USA and at the Beijing Olympics. Dr Savage is the past President of the World Equine Veterinary Association and was a member of the Harness Racing Victoria Racing Appeals and Disciplinary Board.

Ms Amelia Lynch - Member

Amelia Lynch is a Partner at Lander & Rogers and head of the Sports Business Group. She has developed a specialist practice in sports law, advising a broad range of clients in the sport, leisure and major events industry including national and state sporting organisations, professional sports clubs, racing clubs, major event organisers, venue/facility managers and government sport/recreation departments. Ms Lynch is a Director of the Victorian Institute of Sport and former Director of the Australia and New Zealand Sports Law Association.

Mr John Barrett - Member

John Barrett is an independent management consultant. He is an experienced senior executive whose career spans both government and non-government sectors, and he has extensive experience in governance, business performance and innovation. He is a former General Manager and Director of the Bookmakers Licensing Board (SA), Chief Executive of the Racing Industry Development Authority (SA), and an Independent Member of the Greyhound Racing Victoria Integrity Council.

Contact details

Executive Officer - Elissa Watson
Telephone: (03) 9668 2412

Page last updated: 23 November 2020