Calcutta Sweepstakes

Calcutta Sweepstakes are lotteries in which the winner is determined by the outcome of a sporting contingency, such as the Melbourne Cup. There is no prescribed format for conducting a Calcutta Sweepstakes however it would usually involve a lottery draw and an auction open to all ticket holders.

Clubs wishing to hold calcutta sweepstakes must obtain approval from the Minister for Racing.

Information Guidelines

Calcutta Sweepstakes are lotteries where the winner is determined by the outcome of a sporting contingency such as the Melbourne Cup. Usually, Calcutta Sweepstakes involve the auctioning of drawn tickets.

The Gambling Regulation Act 2003 requires clubs wishing to hold Calcutta Sweepstakes to obtain approval to do so.

 Before you apply: Check if your club has a Calcutta Sweepstakes permit

As Calcutta Sweepstakes Permits are issued on a perpetual basis, it is important that you verify if a Permit has already been issued to your club.

A list of Calcutta Sweepstakes Permit holders is publicly available as part of the Victorian Government Data Directory. Please check the following website for details of Calcutta Sweepstakes Permit holders:

If your club is not listed as a Calcutta Sweepstakes Permit holder, please proceed with your application. You must also include a copy of your club's current rules of constitution with your application.

How to apply

If your club is not a Calcutta Sweepstakes Permit holder, please proceed with your application by printing out the form below, completing all sections and sending the form to the address provided.

What you need:

Applications for approval need to be lodged with the Office of Racing no later than 28 days prior to the scheduled event.

Contact information

For information regarding Calcutta Sweepstakes, please contact the Office of Racing:

Postal address:              
P.O. Box 18055,
Collins Street East, MELBOURNE, 8003

Telephone enquiries: 03 8684 1903
Fax: 03 8684 1900

Please send the application form, fee and copy of the club's constitution to:                      

Office of Racing
PO Box 18055
Collins Street East

Page last updated: 31 July 2019