Advanced Manufacturing Advisory Council

The Advanced Manufacturing Advisory Council was established in 2016 to provide advice to the Minister for Industry and Employment on priority areas to shape a positive future for Victorian manufacturing.

In addition to overseeing development and implementation of a manufacturing statement, the Council is providing the Government with advice on opportunities and barriers facing Victorian manufacturing businesses, along with practical advice on options to support further growth of manufacturing.  


The Advanced Manufacturing Advisory Council is chaired by highly-respected industry expert Mr Ross Pilling, who has more than 30 years' experience in the chemicals, manufacturing and services industries across Australia, Malaysia, Singapore and the UK. Mr Pilling is the former board member of the Australian Plastics and Chemicals Industries Association and former Deputy National President of the Australian Industry Group.

In addition to the Chair, the Minister for Industry and Employment has appointed 23 members to the Council — local, national and global leaders in advanced manufacturing drawn from industry, unions and academia with experience and expertise across multiple sectors: 

  • Dr Angeline Achariya, Food Innovation Centre, Monash University
  • Mr George Argyrou, Hickory Group
  • Mr Philip Binns, Agilent Technologies
  • Ms Helen Chapman, Boeing Aerostructures Australia
  • Mr Steve Dargavel, Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union
  • Mr Ben Davis, Australian Workers' Union
  • Dr Fred Davis, Planet Innovation and Future Fibre Technologies
  • Mr Jake Dingle, Carbon Revolution
  • Professor Bronwyn Fox, Factory of the Future, Swinburne University
  • Mr Phil Galloway, Syncline Energy
  • Ms Lina Goodman, ACFS Port Logistics
  • Mr Brad Hordern, DuluxGroup
  • Ms Grace Lethlean, ANDHealth
  • Ms Ivy Leung, Director, Hospira
  • Dr Michelle McIntosh, Monash Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Mr Alastair McLachlan, Preshafood
  • Ms Madeleine McManus OAM, Monash University
  • Dr Jane Oppenheim, Ego Pharmaceuticals
  • Mr Stuart Payne, GP Graders
  • Mr Tim Piper, Australian Industry Group
  • Ms Dianne Smith, Melbourne Chamber of Commerce
  • Mr Rohan Stocker, Marand
  • Ms Anna Reid, Asahi Beverages



Page last updated: 17 May 2018