New Victorian Racing Tribunal members announced

Published: 26 July 2019

In a major step forward for the Victoria's racing industry, the appointees to the new Victorian Racing Tribunal have been announced this week.  

The Victorian Racing Tribunal will further strengthen Victoria's racing industry by streamlining the disciplinary and appeals process for thoroughbred, harness and greyhound racing. 

The Victorian Racing Tribunal will also oversee the hearing and determination of a broad range of appeals, including those relating to penalties imposed by controlling bodies. 

The tribunal comprises some of the most experienced legal professionals in Victoria, led by chairperson Judge John Bowman, who has sat on the County Court of Victoria since 2001. 

Judge Bowman will work with three deputy chairpersons, former County Court judge Graeme Hicks, Justice Shane Marshall and Magistrate John Doherty.   

Other tribunal members include: 

  • Judge Marilyn Harbison  

  • Julie Nicholson 

  • Dr June Smith 

  • Maree Payne  

  • Greg Childs 

  • Robert Abrahams 

  • Josh Bornstein 

  • Judy Bourke 

  • Heidi Keighran 

  • Amanda Upton  

  • Andrew Gould. 

The Victorian Racing Tribunal will come into operation for the new racing season, starting on 1 August. 

The Office of Racing within the Department of Jobs, Precincts and Regions is supporting the establishment of the Victorian Racing Tribunal.