Calling for the best Victorian designs of the year

Published: 8 August 2019

The 2019 Victorian Premier's Design Awards are open for entries, with innovative projects from across the state's design and architectural community eligible for nomination. Established by the Victorian Government in 1996, the Design Awards shine the spotlight on Victorian designers and businesses that excel in their use of design to transform products, services, spaces and experiences. The awards recognise the impact of a sector which influences every aspect of the state's life – from health and education to transport and the environment. The design sector generates more than $5 billion each year and 85,000 Victorians are employed in design-related roles.

 Reflecting the breadth of the sector, awards are presented across seven areas:

  • Architectural Design
  • Communication Design
  • Design Strategy
  • Digital Design
  • Fashion Design
  • Product Design
  • Service Design

In addition, there are awards for the next generation of talent in the Tertiary Student Design and VCE Student Design categories.

All category winners go in to the running for the coveted Victorian Premier's Design of the Year, awarded to a project that exemplifies the ultimate in design excellence.

Last year's winner was a groundbreaking Indigenous design charter, offering best practice protocols for the respectful representation of Indigenous culture.
The 2019 awards will be presented on Wednesday, 20 November at MPavillion, this year designed by Australia's only recipient of the prestigious Pritzker Architecture Prize, Glenn Murcutt AO.
The annual Victorian Premier's Design Awards are awarded by Good Design Australia on behalf of the Victorian Government. Entries via are free and close on 12 September.